ICAIS 2024 International Scientific Committee

Committee Co-Chairs

  • Sarah Stewart-Clark,Dalhousie University
  • Jason LeBlanc, Nova Scotia Fisheries and Aquaculture
  • Deborah Sparks, Invasive Species Centre – ICAIS Secretariat, Canada

Honorary Conference Chair

  • Hugh MacIsaac Canada Research Chair in Aquatic Invasive Species, University of Windsor

Committee Members


  • Ana-Cristina Cardoso, European Commission, Joint Research Centre, Italy
  • Ross Cuthbert, Queen’s University Belfast, UK
  • Arjan Gittenberger, GiMaRIS, The Netherlands
  • Frances Lucy, Institute of Technology Sligo, Ireland
  • Leo Nagelkerke, Wageningen University, Aquaculture & Fisheries Group, The Netherlands
  • Helen Roy, Centre for Ecology and Hydrology, UK
  • Sander Smolders, Ministry of Infrastructure and Water Management, The Netherlands
  • Elena Tricarico, University of Florence, Italy
  • Hugo Verreycken, INBO, Belgium


  • Sarah Bailey, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Canada
  • Alejandro Botolus, Grupo de Ecología en Ambientes Costeros, IPEEC-CONICET, Argentina
  • Jeff Brinsmead, Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry, Canada
  • Sam Chan, Oregon Sea Grant, USA
  • Rebecca D’Orazio, Invasive Species Centre, Canada
  • Patrick Kocovsky, U.S. Geological Survey
  • Paige Kuczmarski, Alberta Invasive Species Council, Canada
  • Alison Morris, Ontario Federation of Anglers and Hunters, Canada
  • Stephen Phillips, Pacific States Marine Fisheries Commission, USA
  • Tera Shewchenko, Invasive Species Centre, Canada

South Africa

  • John Measey, DSI-NRF Centre of Excellence for Invasion Biology, Stellenbosch University, South Africa